How to integrate HtmlPurifier with Zend Framework

It looks like I’m inadvertently starting a series on how to integrate some external libraries with Zend Framework. So be it. Next on the list is HTMLPurifier.

Like with the Amazon AWS SDK, I’m just starting the process as I write this. I have no idea how hard it will be. So let’s start with a Unit Test again and try to make it pass.

The Unit test is located at /project/tests/application/models/PurifyTest.php and contains this.

Obviously, the test will fail at this point

phpunit –configuration phpunit_local.xml –group purify

So let’s do a couple things. First, download the latest version (my link might be stale by the time you read this. So just find the latest release).

Next, if you set it up the same way I do, you’ll have a share folder in your filesystem, where you’ll put the htmlpurifier-4.2.0 folder. Then in your project/library/ folder, you’ll symlink this folder: Htmlpurifier to the location of that directory. Now if you upgrade to a later version of the purifier, you just change the symlink. Then if there’s a problem, you downgrade in two seconds…

Now open the INSTALL file in purifier. What’s this?

These optional extensions can enhance the capabilities of HTML Purifier:

* iconv : Converts text to and from non-UTF-8 encodings
* bcmath : Used for unit conversion and imagecrash protection
* tidy : Used for pretty-printing HTML

OK, well that would be nice. As I recall, tidy these days comes with PHP so if you have a recent version, you should be OK. But just in case, I’m going to fire up phpinfo.

Whew. I’ve got all three, so I’m good to go. If you don’t, then I’d suggest you install it. If you don’t know how, no better time to learn than now. Don’t be scared. It’s a breeze after the first time and you will have learned a very valuable skill that you can use in project after project.

OK let’s continue.

Having read an article or two from Juozas and Paddy, I suspect we won’t need a model or anything, but let’s not get bogged down in details. We just want to see if we can talk to HTMLPurifier, not architect an application.

So without further ado, let’s create a model called Purify.php (in the /project/applications/models/Purify.php file). Here are the contents.

Running the Unit test shows an error…ah I pointed to the wrong location. This is the correct include file:

require_once APPLICATION_PATH . ‘/../library/Htmlpurifier/library/HTMLPurifier.auto.php’;

OK, now there’s no error on the Unit Test, but we still need to make sure we can purify something.

In my case I’ve got APC opcode cache installed, so I’m going to add this include as well:

require_once APPLICATION_PATH . ‘/../library/Htmlpurifier/library/HTMLPurifier.includes.php’;

Then I’m going to create some evil html, and try to purify it. Here’s the new code:

Now let’s run the unit test:

phpunit –configuration phpunit_local.xml –group purify
OK (1 test, 1 assertion)

So it looks like we’re good. However, I’m still not satisfied. There are small differences between running PHPUnit and running code on the webserver. What concerns me is that HTMLPurifier has an autoloader and I want to be sure it won’t clash with Zend Framework’s autoloader.

So this will be easy to test. It’s very similar to the PHP Unit test. We’ll just create a test controller…skip the view and just see if it errors out or not. Here’s the code.

And Bingo! Job done. Easier than I expected it. But I still hope someone finds it helpful.

P.S. From past experience, I want to add a comment. Before you nitpick about details like requiring a file in a constructor or other practices, don’t forget it’s just an attempt to prove we have no errors. I’m not trying to paint the Mona Lisa here.

2 responses to “How to integrate HtmlPurifier with Zend Framework

  1. I was just about to nitpick that exact thing before I fully read your disclaimer. You’re way ahead of me!

    Thanks for another great post. Cheers!

  2. Haha! Cheers David.

Leave a Reply

